top of page

Dangerous Wild Animals Regulations

Montgomery County Animal Control Authority is responsible for enforcement of the Montgomery County Rabies Control and Animal Restraint Ordinance as well as the Montgomery County Wild and Dangerous Animal Ordinance. 

Additionally, they are responsible for rabies exposure investigation including submitting for testing of suspected rabid animals. The Animal Cruelty Investigator is assigned for investigations of reported Animal Cruelty to Non-Livestock Animals.

The following animals are the list of dangerous wild animals that must be registered in the unincorporated area of Montgomery County, Texas due to the animal’s size or nature, concerns of zoonotic disease transmission or other characteristics:

  • Lion

  • Tiger

  • Bear

  • Ocelot

  • Leopard

  • Jaguar

  • Lynx

  • Caracal

  • Jackal

  • Gorilla

  • Elephant

  • Wolf

  • Cougar

  • Cheetah

  • Bobcat

  • Serval

  • Hyena

  • Coyote

  • Baboon

  • Orangutan

  • Apes

  • Rhinoceros


And the following categories of animals:

  • All first, second and third generation hybrids of any of the above animals

  • Non-domestic canids, including hybrids

  • All non-domestic felids, including the first, second and third generation hybrids (4th and 5th generation hybrids are not covered by these Rules and Regulations)

  • Non-domestic ungulates (llamas and camels are domesticated ungulates)

  • Non-human primates, excluding Ring-Tail Lemurs

  • All venomous reptiles

  • All crocodiles and alligators

Dangerous Wild Animals Regulations 

Dangerous Wild Animals Registration Packet

bottom of page